top of page
  • thebearsbulletin

Todd the Rat



By Ella Stotz



Todd the Rat


I am a rat. My name is Todd. I live a simple life because mainly all I do is scavenge for food. I do love to eat, it is the most pleasant part of my day, (that is if the food is not rotten, which most times it is since I can’t find anything better to eat while looking through feed troughs and waste piles). Life is way harder now than it was; humans are more careful with their food and don’t leave it lying around anymore, ready for me to eat to my heart's content. Ahh the good old days. Well I guess we can always dream, like how I dream about my parents during cold dark nights. They died, by hunting dogs, with long claws, fearsome teeth and relentless humans by their side. How much I hate them. How much I miss my loving parents.


Today, again, I am scavenging for food. I have always wished to find a big, red, juicy tomato. Or not even one, millions of colossal, scarlet, succulent, spheres of goodness. But I will never find them, at least I haven't yet, maybe I will someday. Growing up, I heard about these places where everywhere you look tomatoes hang from emerald stems covered by chartreuse leaves, and that is my goal to get there, wherever “there” is.


I see them, tomatoes, glimmering, glowing in the sun. They sit there, on the stairs of the building that has brought me horrors, ready for my small paws to take. I know that I have to grab them quickly, I know what happens if I don’t. I have never gotten this close but never has the supper of my dreams been right in front of me. So, I go as fast as I can from my little peeping hole in the barn to the farm house where the box lies. I grab two from the box, then run back to the hole, shove them in and hide them beneath hay. I repeat the process a couple of times and after grabbing the last one. I stop, and rest.


I am safe, I am secure, I am tired, I am covered in hay and surrounded by gigantic tomatoes. I stay seated for a while and then grab one delicious tomato. The scent infuses my nose, I lift my mouth to take a bite, but suddenly one of the dogs steps into the barn. It charges at me, I squeal, dropping the tomato and running to hide. I am too late, the dog has me by my tail, I flail again and again but there is no use. Then it goes dark.


When I wake up the sun is shining and I am surrounded by plants. I have no idea what time it is or how long I have been knocked out. I spin around, then I see perfectly ripe tomatoes ready to be eaten hanging from emerald stems covered by chartreuse leaves. I have reached my goal, I am here. Wherever “here” is.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why Read Zadie Smith

By Sadie De Arruda I am a person terrified of change. And I’m at a point in my life where everything I know is changing and I have no control. High school is ending, my childhood is over, and all the

The Car

By Cal Moore The car rattles down the road, kicking up dirt and dust into the summer air. Gravel clinks against the belly of the vehicle, which moans in protest, and vomits smoke. The driver exhales h

bottom of page